Machiko Agano - Japan (www.agano-machiko.com) One of the foremost textile artists in Japan with an international reputation and work in major museums throughout the world. For C&M her large-scale installation reflects the importance of water in the production of cloth and the revolutionary recycling of rainwater at Salts Mill through her contemporary use of the traditional Yuzen dyeing technique.
Jeanette Appleton – UK (www.jeanetteappleton.com) A highly experienced artist, her response for C&M will use the 'silencing' context of felt as a metaphor for the absorption of sound and memory. Intimate works based on the original ledgers and sample books are placed in the wall cavities originally used by workers to store bobbins.
Masae Bamba – Japan (www.transitionandinfluence.com/gallery/masaebamba.html) An artist currently making work influenced by the Tsunami. For C&M she dyed a large scale 'sea' of cloth (minimum 5m x 3m) using indigo, and printed with the first attempts at writing made by her daughter as a means of capturing the moment before it becomes a memory and before both mother and daughter forget such times existed.
Caroline Bartlett - UK (www.carolinebartlett.co.uk) An artist experienced in site-responsive work, her installation for C&M will comprises a number of large embroidery hoops within one of the wall bays. Each stretched, stitched, woolen cloth piece will be inset with a small porcelain roundel imprinted with an impression taken from a fragment of textiles.
Hilary Bower - UK (www.hilarybower.com) Her visceral response to Salts Mill comprises a number of handmade 'sacks', each approximately 2m high, hanging from the roof structure and resting on the floor. The sacks will be a metaphor for the repetition of making, of human physicality, of a memory, of loss, of containment, of holding and of silence; of a space, not empty but filled.
Maxine Bristow – UK (www.nuca.ac.uk/research/degrees/students/maxinebristow) Artist who uses the overlooked and familiar elements in our built and lived environment as a metaphor for memory; she creates a series of rigid frames and fluid curtains offering restricted and partial views of the site and smaller fragmented pieces of cloth.
Reece Clements - UK Emerging artist brought up in Bradford, who has long standing family connections to Salts Mill: great grandmother worked as a spinner, grandmother born in Saltaire and worked at Salts Mill, as did his mother. His felt and mixed media installation is a direct response to interviews with the texture and architecture of Saltaire and The Lobby.
Yasuko Fujino - Japan Her hand woven tapestry installation of layered inlay and printed transparent silk Kimono (each 1.8m x 1.8m) will link Anne Lister's (Halifax 1791-1840) coded diary describing her lesbian relationships and the Nushu script that was used exclusively among women in the sex-segregated world in traditional southern China. In Japan, traditionally, the female Kimono acts as a symbolic representation of women, and she will develop ideas through the Kimono as the container of the memories, which are overlaid and remade many times, however faded.
Caren Garfen - UK (www.carengarfen.com) Artist whose installation is based on the lives of actual women from Saltaire drawn from the 1891 Census. The installation comprises of vintage wooden reels attached to the wall, each with its own 'memory plaque' label and an 'S' for Salts and Silver, some will also have ribbon wrapped round with hand stitched addresses or researched texts.
Rachel Gray - UK Emerging artist whose work is a reflection of The Lobby as it is today and as it was when in full production. The work comprises many layered patched, embroidered and printed narrow works into which are trapped fragmented black and white images researched from archives local to Saltaire.
Annie Harrison - UK (www.annieharrison.co.uk) Artist based in Manchester working with new technologies. Her work for C&M is created from recorded interviews with local people who use iPads to draw maps of the Mill as they remember it as a means of recovering lost memories and hidden narratives.
Diana Harrison – UK (www.transitionandinfluence.com/gallery/dianaharrison.html) Artist with an international reputation for her radical quilts. The installation for C&M represents a new development in her work, being made up of over-dyed and discharge printed handkerchiefs laid on the floor following the patterns of the flagstones.
Katharina Hinsberg – Germany (katharina.hinsberg.de) Installation and performance artist with an international reputation. For C&M she has used a single red thread to measure the width and length of The Spinning Room. She has then used the thread to weave the physical memory of the room as an open grid cloth at the ratio 1:100 (making it approximately 1.7m x 0.15m).
Peta Jacobs - UK (www.petajacobs.com) Emerging artist specialising in devoré which she will use in response to the peeling walls. The installation develop the embodiment of memory, the starting point for which is an archive photograph of the members of the Bradford Wool Exchange in 1953/54.
Philippa Lawrence - UK (www.philippalawrence.com) Installation and land artist who has worked with local mill William Halstead to make a length of cloth for the exhibition which has words related to the fabrication of cloth woven into its selvedge edge.
Hannah Leighton-Boyce - UK (www.hannahleightonboyce.com) Emerging artist based in Manchester. For C&M she is using pinhole cameras fitted into the small ventilation cavities in the wall, which will project images of the landscape outside the Mill together with handmade kneelers to facilitate the looking.
Yoriko Murayama - Japan (http://yorikomurayama.x0.com/english%20index.html) Artist who has woven the landscape surrounding Salts Mill using traditional Kasurai (ikat) technique which create indistinct images - like fading memory. The images have been printed on Japanese paper which has been cut up and woven; the installation takes the form of a number of spiral cones each 2 metres high.
Celia Pym - UK (www.transitionandinfluence.com/gallery/celiapym.html) Artist who specialises in interactive performance using knitting. For C&M, she has knitted a sweater without a pattern, not counting rows or stitches and not rectifying mistakes. Knitting, cutting, patching and darning, re-constructing two sweaters - the second from the cut away fragments of the first; the first darned back together with patches from elsewhere.
Kari Steihaug - Norway (www.karisteihaug.no) One of Norway's leading textile artists whose work has not previously been shown in the UK. Her installation is conceived as a dialogue with sizes: between the body and the room. It comprises of an unravelling woollen jumper, knitted from garments discarded or collected from flea markets. The installation stretches from floor to ceiling - drawing lines in space as the unravelled threads are wrapped around spools on the floor.
Koji Takaki – Japan (www.transitionandinfluence.com/gallery/kojitakaki.html) Artist who took part in Textural Space as artist in residence at the Whitworth Art Gallery, Manchester. For C&M he recycles a part of the work made in Manchester and incorporates work he has subsequently made in Japan in a diptych approximately 1.8m x 1.8m x 1.8m. This brings together  memory of working in the two countries, of the beauty of the passage of time (wabi sabi) and a materialisation of cloth and memory.
Katsura Takasuka - Japan Emerging artist using the waste product from spooling silk from the cocoon to the reel and compressing into small cubes. A cocoon is 0.5 grams and each cube is 2 kilo, which equals 2,000 cocoons - the weight of life, no waste. There are 13 cubes in the exhibition.
Karina Thompson - UK (www.karinathompson.co.uk) Karina Thompson's work is a textile representation of her physical interaction with The Spinning Room. She laid a sheet of paper the length of the room and ran up and down it 10 times to represent the amount of fabric produced in one day at Salts Mill. Her heartbeat was recorded on an ECG 24 hour tape and her footprints marked the paper as she ran. These have been combined on a digitally embroidered textile 100m x 0.5m laid along the floor as a permanent memory of the transient movements of both her heart and feet whilst she ran in the space.
Yoriko Yoneyama – Japan (yorikoyoneyama.jimdo.com) Artist whose installation comprises a suspended web of dried rice threaded on fine cotton. Her intention is to link those overlooked elements which are essential to our survival and our cultural heritage: food and clothing - rice and fibre.
AMAT – Italy (www.amat.marche.it) Dance partners in UCA’s EU Transparent Boundaries project (transparentboundaries.com) who have proposed a launch event which will either explore links with Italian model industrial villages or engage the local community in a collective performance.